Ticker Scout
← Berkshire Hathaway Inc. (BRK-B)

Berkshire Hathaway Inc. (BRK-B) Q1 FY2026 Financial Statements: Total revenues $93.67B, Net earnings attributable to shareholders $10.11B

CIK 0001067983 · NYSE · Period: Q1 FY2026 (ended 2026-03-31, 10-Q accession 0001193125-26-202243) · Annual report: FY2025 10-K (filed 2026-03-02, accession 0001193125-26-083899)

More for Berkshire Hathaway: Company index · 10-K and 10-Q summary · 8-K filings and events

PeriodQ2 FY2026Q1 FY2026

Archived record for Q1 FY2026. The current period is Q2 FY2026.

Published

Berkshire Hathaway reported $93.67 billion in total revenues for Q1 FY2026, the quarter ended March 31, 2026, up 4.4% from a year earlier, and net earnings attributable to Berkshire shareholders of $10.11 billion, up 119.6% from $4.60 billion. Most of that increase came from outside the operating businesses: after-tax losses on Berkshire's equity investments were far smaller than in the year-ago quarter, and operating earnings excluding investment gains and losses, the measure Berkshire directs shareholders to, were $11.35 billion, up 17.7%. Insurance underwriting after tax rose to $1.72 billion, up 28.5%, with no significant catastrophe events in the quarter and the primary and reinsurance groups swinging to underwriting profits while GEICO earned less; a swing to currency gains on Berkshire's non-dollar senior notes accounted for a larger part of the operating increase.

MetricAmountvs. year ago
Total revenues$93,675,000,000up 4.4%
Net earnings attributable to shareholders$10,106,000,000up 119.6%
Operating earnings excluding investment gains and losses$11,346,000,000up 17.7%
Earnings per Class B share$4.68up 119.7%
Insurance underwriting earnings after tax$1,717,000,000up 28.5%

About this file

TickerBRK-B
CIK0001067983
CompanyBerkshire Hathaway Inc.
Business typeinsurance_conglomerate
Business type detailProperty/casualty and life/health insurance and reinsurance group (GEICO, Berkshire Hathaway Primary Group, Berkshire Hathaway Reinsurance Group) whose underwriting float funds a very large investment portfolio, combined with wholly-owned non-insurance operating businesses: the BNSF railroad, Berkshire Hathaway Energy's regulated utilities and pipelines, and a manufacturing, service and retailing group (including McLane and Pilot Travel Centers). SEC classification: SIC 6331, Fire, Marine & Casualty Insurance. Berkshire has two share classes; each Class B share carries 1/1,500 of the economic rights of a Class A share, and the company reports earnings per share on both an equivalent Class A and an equivalent Class B basis.
Schema templateinsurance_conglomerate
Schema rationaleA single revenue/cost-of-goods/capex template would hide what actually drives Berkshire. This file instead follows the structure Berkshire itself reports: an insurance block (premiums earned, losses and loss adjustment expenses, underwriting expenses, underwriting earnings by group, float, and investment income) held separately from the operating businesses; a separate line for investment gains and losses, because since 2018 all changes in the market value of the equity portfolio run through reported net earnings and dominate it; and per-segment blocks for BNSF, Berkshire Hathaway Energy and the manufacturing, service and retailing group. The balance sheet keeps Berkshire's own two-column presentation, which splits 'insurance and other' from 'railroad, utilities and energy' and therefore splits total debt the same way. Book value per share is carried because it is the conventional yardstick for this company.
Reporting currencyUSD
Converted to USDno
Unitsactual dollars (not millions), except where a field name says per_share, _pct, _ratio or _shares
Share unitsactual shares (not thousands)

BRK-B annual income statement, balance sheet and cash flow

FY2025FY2024FY2023
Fiscal year202520242023
Period start2025-01-012024-01-012023-01-01
Period end2025-12-312024-12-312023-12-31
Source accession0001193125-26-0838990001193125-26-0838990001193125-26-083899
Income statement
Revenues
Insurance and other
Insurance premiums earned88,902,000,00088,257,000,00083,403,000,000
Sales and service revenues199,524,000,000202,334,000,000207,148,000,000
Leasing revenues10,034,000,0009,227,000,0008,416,000,000
Interest dividend and other investment income23,261,000,00021,825,000,00015,764,000,000
Subtotal321,721,000,000321,643,000,000314,731,000,000
Railroad utilities and energy
Railroad transportation revenues23,330,000,00023,355,000,00023,791,000,000
Utility and energy operating revenues21,856,000,00021,518,000,00021,232,000,000
Service revenues and other income4,537,000,0004,917,000,0004,728,000,000
Subtotal49,723,000,00049,790,000,00049,751,000,000
Total revenues371,444,000,000371,433,000,000364,482,000,000
Investment gains losses39,078,000,00052,799,000,00074,855,000,000
Costs and expenses
Insurance and other
Insurance losses and loss adjustment expenses57,307,000,00056,186,000,00057,187,000,000
Life annuity and health insurance benefits4,379,000,0003,858,000,0004,029,000,000
Insurance underwriting expenses17,756,000,00016,808,000,00015,270,000,000
Cost of sales and services160,062,000,000163,642,000,000169,281,000,000
Cost of leasing7,685,000,0007,069,000,0006,037,000,000
Selling general and administrative expenses29,735,000,00025,642,000,00025,458,000,000
Interest expense1,329,000,0001,594,000,0001,671,000,000
Subtotal278,253,000,000274,799,000,000278,933,000,000
Railroad utilities and energy
Freight rail transportation expenses15,366,000,00015,965,000,00016,464,000,000
Utilities and energy cost of sales and other expenses16,959,000,00016,984,000,00018,399,000,000
Other expenses4,155,000,0004,343,000,0004,016,000,000
Interest expense3,740,000,0003,606,000,0003,332,000,000
Subtotal40,220,000,00040,898,000,00042,211,000,000
Total costs and expenses318,473,000,000315,697,000,000321,144,000,000
Earnings before income taxes and equity method earnings92,049,000,000108,535,000,000118,193,000,000
Equity method earnings losses-9,590,000,0001,841,000,0001,973,000,000
Earnings before income taxes82,459,000,000110,376,000,000120,166,000,000
Income tax expense15,199,000,00020,815,000,00023,019,000,000
Net earnings including noncontrolling interests67,260,000,00089,561,000,00097,147,000,000
Earnings attributable to noncontrolling interests292,000,000566,000,000924,000,000
Net earnings attributable to berkshire shareholders66,968,000,00088,995,000,00096,223,000,000
Per share
Net earnings per average equivalent class a share46,56361,90066,412
Net earnings per average equivalent class b share31.0441.2744.27
Average equivalent class a shares outstanding1,438,2231,437,7201,448,880
Average equivalent class b shares outstanding2,157,335,1392,156,580,2962,173,319,709
Class b to class a ratio1 Class B share = 1/1500 of a Class A share1 Class B share = 1/1500 of a Class A share1 Class B share = 1/1500 of a Class A share
After tax earnings by source
Insurance underwriting7,258,000,0009,020,000,0005,428,000,000
Insurance investment income12,513,000,00013,670,000,0009,567,000,000
Bnsf railroad5,476,000,0005,031,000,0005,087,000,000
Berkshire hathaway energy3,979,000,0003,730,000,0002,331,000,000
Manufacturing service and retailing13,647,000,00013,072,000,00013,362,000,000
Investment gains losses30,737,000,00041,558,000,00058,873,000,000
Other than temporary impairment of kraft heinz and occidental-8,255,000,000n/an/a
Other1,613,000,0002,914,000,0001,575,000,000
Net earnings attributable to berkshire shareholders66,968,000,00088,995,000,00096,223,000,000
Operating earnings excluding investment gains and impairments44,486,000,00047,437,000,00037,350,000,000
Insurance underwriting
Pre tax underwriting earnings
Geico6,824,000,0007,813,000,0003,635,000,000
Bh primary785,000,000855,000,0001,374,000,000
Bh reinsurance group1,851,000,0002,737,000,0001,904,000,000
Total9,460,000,00011,405,000,0006,913,000,000
Income taxes2,202,000,0002,385,000,0001,485,000,000
After tax underwriting earnings7,258,000,0009,020,000,0005,428,000,000
Effective income tax rate %23.3%20.9%21.5%
Geico
Premiums written45,193,000,00042,916,000,00039,837,000,000
Premiums earned44,481,000,00042,252,000,00039,264,000,000
Losses and lae32,144,000,00030,331,000,00031,814,000,000
Underwriting expenses5,513,000,0004,108,000,0003,815,000,000
Loss ratio %72.3%71.8%81.0%
Expense ratio %12.4%9.7%9.7%
Combined ratio %84.7%81.5%90.7%
Pre tax underwriting earnings6,824,000,0007,813,000,0003,635,000,000
Bh primary
Premiums written18,713,000,00018,836,000,00018,142,000,000
Premiums earned18,713,000,00018,733,000,00017,129,000,000
Losses and lae12,519,000,00012,666,000,00011,224,000,000
Underwriting expenses5,409,000,0005,212,000,0004,531,000,000
Loss ratio %66.9%67.6%65.5%
Expense ratio %28.9%27.8%26.5%
Combined ratio %95.8%95.4%92.0%
Pre tax underwriting earnings785,000,000855,000,0001,374,000,000
Bh reinsurance group
Property casualty
Premiums written20,168,000,00021,899,000,00022,360,000,000
Premiums earned20,439,000,00022,239,000,00021,938,000,000
Losses and lae11,689,000,00012,244,000,00012,664,000,000
Underwriting expenses5,580,000,0006,195,000,0005,766,000,000
Loss ratio %57.2%55.1%57.7%
Expense ratio %27.3%27.8%26.3%
Combined ratio %84.5%82.9%84.0%
Pre tax underwriting earnings3,170,000,0003,800,000,0003,508,000,000
Life health
Premiums written5,302,000,0005,007,000,0005,093,000,000
Premiums earned5,269,000,0004,998,000,0005,072,000,000
Life and health benefits3,927,000,0003,415,000,0003,593,000,000
Underwriting expenses968,000,0001,360,000,0001,125,000,000
Pre tax underwriting earnings374,000,000223,000,000354,000,000
Retroactive reinsurance pre tax-1,070,000,000-846,000,000-1,541,000,000
Periodic payment annuity pre tax-711,000,000-597,000,000-650,000,000
Variable annuity pre tax88,000,000157,000,000233,000,000
Total pre tax underwriting earnings1,851,000,0002,737,000,0001,904,000,000
After tax losses from significant catastrophe events approx-850,000,000-1,200,000,000-725,000,000
Insurance investment income
Interest and other investment income10,175,000,00011,550,000,0006,081,000,000
Dividend income5,086,000,0005,198,000,0005,500,000,000
Pre tax net investment income15,261,000,00016,748,000,00011,581,000,000
Income taxes2,748,000,0003,078,000,0002,014,000,000
After tax net investment income12,513,000,00013,670,000,0009,567,000,000
Effective income tax rate %18.0%18.4%17.4%
Insurance float approx176,000,000,000171,000,000,000169,000,000,000
Railroad bnsf
Railroad operating revenues23,350,000,00023,355,000,00023,474,000,000
Railroad operating expenses15,295,000,00015,886,000,00016,059,000,000
Railroad operating earnings8,055,000,0007,469,000,0007,415,000,000
Other revenues expenses net218,000,000257,000,000247,000,000
Interest expense-1,098,000,000-1,078,000,000-1,048,000,000
Pre tax earnings7,175,000,0006,648,000,0006,614,000,000
Income taxes1,699,000,0001,617,000,0001,527,000,000
Net earnings5,476,000,0005,031,000,0005,087,000,000
Effective income tax rate %23.7%24.3%23.1%
Operating ratio %65.5%68.0%68.4%
Utilities and energy bhe
Energy operating revenues21,871,000,00021,566,000,00021,280,000,000
Real estate operating revenues4,327,000,0004,354,000,0004,322,000,000
Other income99,000,000428,000,000406,000,000
Total revenues26,297,000,00026,348,000,00026,008,000,000
Energy cost of sales6,346,000,0006,616,000,0007,057,000,000
Energy operating expenses10,665,000,00010,403,000,00011,412,000,000
Real estate operating costs and expenses4,302,000,0004,509,000,0004,316,000,000
Interest expense2,642,000,0002,528,000,0002,283,000,000
Total costs and expenses23,955,000,00024,056,000,00025,068,000,000
Pre tax earnings2,342,000,0002,292,000,000940,000,000
Income tax benefit-1,785,000,000-1,871,000,000-2,022,000,000
Net earnings after income taxes4,127,000,0004,163,000,0002,962,000,000
Noncontrolling interests of bhe subsidiaries145,000,000137,000,000352,000,000
Net earnings attributable to bhe3,982,000,0004,026,000,0002,610,000,000
Noncontrolling interests and preferred stock dividends3,000,000296,000,000279,000,000
Net earnings attributable to berkshire shareholders3,979,000,0003,730,000,0002,331,000,000
After tax earnings by activity
US utilities2,097,000,0001,961,000,000906,000,000
Natural gas pipelines1,151,000,0001,232,000,0001,079,000,000
Other energy businesses1,175,000,0001,334,000,0001,024,000,000
Real estate brokerage24,000,000-107,000,00013,000,000
Corporate interest and other-465,000,000-394,000,000-412,000,000
Manufacturing service and retailing
Revenues
Manufacturing78,487,000,00077,231,000,00075,405,000,000
Service and retailing135,843,000,000138,672,000,000144,342,000,000
Total214,330,000,000215,903,000,000219,747,000,000
Pre tax earnings
Manufacturing12,571,000,00011,895,000,00011,445,000,000
Service and retailing4,905,000,0004,948,000,0006,144,000,000
Total17,476,000,00016,843,000,00017,589,000,000
Income taxes and noncontrolling interests3,829,000,0003,771,000,0004,227,000,000
Net earnings13,647,000,00013,072,000,00013,362,000,000
Effective income tax rate %21.2%21.7%22.2%
Pre tax margin %8.2%7.8%8.0%
After tax acquisition accounting expenses excluded-528,000,000-531,000,000-693,000,000
Investment gains losses detail
Pre tax investment gains losses39,078,000,00052,799,000,00074,855,000,000
Income taxes and noncontrolling interests8,341,000,00011,241,000,00015,982,000,000
After tax investment gains losses30,737,000,00041,558,000,00058,873,000,000
Effective income tax rate %21.3%21.2%21.3%
Pre tax unrealized gains on equity securities still held at year end approx40,000,000,00049,300,000,00069,100,000,000
Pre tax gains losses on equity securities sold during year-18,000,0003,500,000,0002,700,000,000
Other after tax earnings
Investment income not allocated to operating businesses3,566,000,0001,445,000,000959,000,000
Foreign currency gains losses on non USD senior notes-642,000,0001,151,000,000211,000,000
Goodwill impairment losses-1,555,000,000-399,000,000n/a
Equity method earnings900,000,0001,519,000,0001,750,000,000
Acquisition accounting expenses-528,000,000-531,000,000-693,000,000
Other earnings losses-128,000,000-271,000,000-652,000,000
Total1,613,000,0002,914,000,0001,575,000,000
Balance sheet
Assets
Insurance and other
Cash and cash equivalents47,719,000,00044,333,000,000
Short term investments in US treasury bills321,434,000,000286,472,000,000
Investments in fixed maturity securities17,816,000,00015,364,000,000
Investments in equity securities297,778,000,000271,588,000,000
Equity method investments19,978,000,00031,134,000,000
Loans and finance receivables29,836,000,00027,798,000,000
Other receivables44,331,000,00043,887,000,000
Inventories24,424,000,00024,008,000,000
Property plant and equipment31,885,000,00030,071,000,000
Equipment held for lease18,535,000,00017,828,000,000
Goodwill55,945,000,00056,860,000,000
Other intangible assets33,802,000,00034,638,000,000
Deferred charges retroactive reinsurance8,104,000,0008,797,000,000
Other24,413,000,00024,994,000,000
Subtotal976,000,000,000917,772,000,000
Railroad utilities and energy
Cash and cash equivalents4,158,000,0003,396,000,000
Receivables4,387,000,0004,503,000,000
Property plant and equipment184,740,000,000175,030,000,000
Goodwill27,129,000,00027,020,000,000
Regulatory assets4,821,000,0005,349,000,000
Other20,941,000,00020,811,000,000
Subtotal246,176,000,000236,109,000,000
Total assets1,222,176,000,0001,153,881,000,000
Liabilities
Insurance and other
Unpaid losses and loss adjustment expenses120,713,000,000115,151,000,000
Unpaid losses and lae retroactive reinsurance31,048,000,00032,443,000,000
Unearned insurance premiums31,339,000,00030,808,000,000
Life annuity and health insurance benefits17,890,000,00017,616,000,000
Other insurance policyholder liabilities10,312,000,00010,703,000,000
Accounts payable accruals and other liabilities38,019,000,00037,489,000,000
Payable for purchase of US treasury bills167,000,00012,769,000,000
Aircraft repurchase liabilities and unearned lease revenues10,686,000,0009,356,000,000
Notes payable and other borrowings45,763,000,00044,885,000,000
Subtotal305,937,000,000311,220,000,000
Railroad utilities and energy
Accounts payable accruals and other liabilities19,250,000,00018,226,000,000
Regulatory liabilities7,013,000,0007,033,000,000
Notes payable and other borrowings83,318,000,00079,877,000,000
Subtotal109,581,000,000105,136,000,000
Income taxes principally deferred86,955,000,00085,870,000,000
Total liabilities502,473,000,000502,226,000,000
Shareholders equity
Common stock at par value8,000,0008,000,000
Capital in excess of par value35,612,000,00035,665,000,000
Accumulated other comprehensive income-2,448,000,000-3,584,000,000-3,763,000,000
Retained earnings763,186,000,000696,218,000,000607,350,000,000
Treasury stock at cost-78,939,000,000-78,939,000,000-76,802,000,000
Berkshire shareholders equity717,419,000,000649,368,000,000561,273,000,000
Noncontrolling interests2,284,000,0002,287,000,0006,236,000,000
Total shareholders equity719,703,000,000651,655,000,000567,509,000,000
Common stock and capital in excess of par value34,488,000,000
Total liabilities and shareholders equity1,222,176,000,0001,153,881,000,000
Debt summary
Insurance and other borrowings45,763,000,00044,885,000,000
Railroad utilities and energy borrowings83,318,000,00079,877,000,000
Total notes payable and other borrowings129,081,000,000124,762,000,000
Berkshire parent borrowings22,662,000,00021,091,000,000
Berkshire hathaway finance corporation borrowings18,262,000,00017,915,000,000
Bnsf borrowings24,062,000,00023,497,000,000
Bhe and subsidiaries borrowings59,256,000,00056,380,000,000
Cash and investments held in insurance businesses
Cash cash equivalents and US treasury bills212,651,000,000212,591,000,000
Equity securities294,144,000,000263,366,000,000
Fixed maturity securities17,466,000,00015,137,000,000
Other including loans to affiliates4,702,000,0005,980,000,000
Total528,963,000,000497,074,000,000
Memo
US treasury bills with maturities of three months or less included in cash17,600,000,00014,400,000,000
Unsettled purchases of US treasury bills included in short term investments and liabilities167,000,00012,769,000,000
NoteThe FY2025 10-K's balance sheet presents only December 31, 2025 and December 31, 2024. The equity figures below for December 31, 2023 come from the statement of changes in shareholders' equity in the same filing, which does carry a 2023 column.
Equity securities portfolio
Cost basis85,389,000,00075,506,000,000
Net unrealized gains212,389,000,000196,082,000,000
Fair value297,778,000,000271,588,000,000
By sector fair value
Banks insurance and finance104,129,000,00091,643,000,000
Consumer products94,954,000,000104,749,000,000
Commercial industrial and other98,695,000,00075,196,000,000
Five largest holdings share of portfolio %65.0%71.0%
Five largest holdingsAmerican Express Company; Apple Inc.; Bank of America Corporation; The Coca-Cola Company; Chevron CorporationAmerican Express Company; Apple Inc.; Bank of America Corporation; The Coca-Cola Company; Chevron Corporation
Book value
Berkshire shareholders equity717,419,000,000649,368,000,000
Equivalent class a shares outstanding at period end1,438,2231,438,223
Book value per equivalent class a share498,823.2451,507.17
Book value per equivalent class b share332.55301.0
Cash flow
Operating activities
Net earnings67,260,000,00089,561,000,00097,147,000,000
Investment gains losses reversal-39,078,000,000-52,799,000,000-74,855,000,000
Depreciation and amortization13,476,000,00012,855,000,00012,486,000,000
Discount accretion on investments principally US treasury bills-11,964,000,000-11,349,000,000-5,510,000,000
Equity method investment impairment losses10,681,000,000n/an/a
Other adjustments3,239,000,000-892,000,000-513,000,000
Change in unpaid losses and lae3,088,000,0002,173,000,0002,628,000,000
Change in deferred charges retroactive reinsurance693,000,000698,000,000375,000,000
Change in unearned insurance premiums432,000,000376,000,0001,854,000,000
Change in receivables and originated loans-2,426,000,000626,000,000-1,949,000,000
Change in other assets-861,000,000-206,000,00098,000,000
Change in other liabilities429,000,000-2,288,000,0002,570,000,000
Change in income taxes1,000,000,000-8,163,000,00014,865,000,000
Net cash flows from operating activities45,969,000,00030,592,000,00049,196,000,000
Investing activities
Purchases of equity securities-16,923,000,000-9,237,000,000-16,462,000,000
Sales of equity securities30,686,000,000143,359,000,00040,631,000,000
Purchases of US treasury bills and fixed maturity securities-586,129,000,000-526,842,000,000-235,007,000,000
Sales of US treasury bills and fixed maturity securities44,769,000,00048,462,000,00052,302,000,000
Redemptions and maturities of US treasury bills and fixed maturity securities503,954,000,000353,538,000,000153,201,000,000
Acquisitions of businesses net of cash acquired-1,074,000,000-396,000,000-8,604,000,000
Purchases of property plant and equipment and equipment held for lease-20,927,000,000-18,976,000,000-19,409,000,000
Other1,157,000,000-195,000,000685,000,000
Net cash flows from investing activities-44,487,000,000-10,287,000,000-32,663,000,000
Financing activities
Proceeds from borrowings of insurance and other businesses3,071,000,0005,528,000,0002,133,000,000
Repayments of borrowings of insurance and other businesses-3,050,000,000-7,796,000,000-6,027,000,000
Proceeds from borrowings of railroad utilities and energy businesses6,101,000,0007,658,000,0005,684,000,000
Repayments of borrowings of railroad utilities and energy businesses-3,974,000,000-4,151,000,000-5,284,000,000
Changes in short term borrowings net878,000,000-3,059,000,0002,407,000,000
Acquisitions of treasury stock share repurchases0-2,918,000,000-9,171,000,000
Other principally transactions with noncontrolling interests-793,000,000-5,622,000,000-4,147,000,000
Net cash flows from financing activities2,233,000,000-10,360,000,000-14,405,000,000
Effects of foreign currency exchange rate changes478,000,000-212,000,000116,000,000
Increase decrease in cash and restricted cash4,193,000,0009,733,000,0002,244,000,000
Cash and cash equivalents and restricted cash beginning of year48,376,000,00038,643,000,00036,399,000,000
Cash and cash equivalents and restricted cash end of year52,569,000,00048,376,000,00038,643,000,000
Derived
Capital expenditures20,927,000,00018,976,000,00019,409,000,000
Operating cash flow less capital expenditures25,042,000,00011,616,000,00029,787,000,000
Dividends paid000
Capital expenditures by segment
Insurance109,000,00099,000,00068,000,000
Bnsf3,796,000,0003,690,000,0003,920,000,000
Bhe10,589,000,0009,013,000,0009,148,000,000
Manufacturing2,681,000,0002,779,000,0002,714,000,000
Service retailing2,604,000,0002,360,000,0002,590,000,000
Mclane207,000,000236,000,000264,000,000
Pilot941,000,000799,000,000705,000,000
Total20,927,000,00018,976,000,00019,409,000,000
Depreciation and amortization by segment
Insurance438,000,000411,000,000401,000,000
Bnsf2,722,000,0002,621,000,0002,627,000,000
Bhe4,220,000,0004,003,000,0004,010,000,000
Manufacturing2,464,000,0002,422,000,0002,290,000,000
Service retailing1,643,000,0001,522,000,0001,335,000,000
Mclane214,000,000217,000,000208,000,000
Pilot1,095,000,0001,012,000,000796,000,000
Segment total12,796,000,00012,208,000,00011,667,000,000
Corporate eliminations other680,000,000647,000,000819,000,000
Consolidated13,476,000,00012,855,000,00012,486,000,000

BRK-B quarterly income statement, balance sheet and cash flow

First Quarter 2026First Quarter 2025 (comparative)
LabelFirst Quarter 2026First Quarter 2025 (comparative)
Period typethree monthsthree months
Period start2026-01-012025-01-01
Period end2026-03-312025-03-31
Source accession0001193125-26-2022430001193125-26-202243
Income statement
Revenues
Insurance and other
Insurance premiums earned22,005,000,00021,804,000,000
Sales and service revenues50,946,000,00047,815,000,000
Leasing revenues2,671,000,0002,431,000,000
Interest dividend and other investment income5,430,000,0005,632,000,000
Subtotal81,052,000,00077,682,000,000
Railroad utilities and energy
Railroad transportation revenues5,940,000,0005,671,000,000
Utilities and energy operating revenues5,807,000,0005,494,000,000
Service revenues and other income876,000,000878,000,000
Subtotal12,623,000,00012,043,000,000
Total revenues93,675,000,00089,725,000,000
Investment gains losses-1,605,000,000-6,435,000,000
Costs and expenses
Insurance and other
Insurance losses and loss adjustment expenses14,204,000,00014,646,000,000
Life annuity and health insurance benefits1,019,000,0001,068,000,000
Insurance underwriting expenses4,517,000,0004,368,000,000
Cost of sales and services41,207,000,00038,551,000,000
Cost of leasing2,027,000,0001,887,000,000
Selling general and administrative expenses6,556,000,0007,681,000,000
Interest expense324,000,000340,000,000
Subtotal69,854,000,00068,541,000,000
Railroad utilities and energy
Railroad transportation expenses3,923,000,0003,873,000,000
Utilities and energy cost of sales and other expenses4,317,000,0004,091,000,000
Other expenses856,000,000846,000,000
Interest expense977,000,000917,000,000
Subtotal10,073,000,0009,727,000,000
Total costs and expenses79,927,000,00078,268,000,000
Earnings before income taxes and equity method earnings12,143,000,0005,022,000,000
Equity method earnings176,000,000126,000,000
Earnings before income taxes12,319,000,0005,148,000,000
Income tax expense2,140,000,000476,000,000
Net earnings including noncontrolling interests10,179,000,0004,672,000,000
Earnings attributable to noncontrolling interests73,000,00069,000,000
Net earnings attributable to berkshire shareholders10,106,000,0004,603,000,000
Per share
Net earnings per average equivalent class a share7,0273,200
Net earnings per average equivalent class b share4.682.13
Average equivalent class a shares outstanding1,438,1241,438,223
Average equivalent class b shares outstanding2,157,185,8892,157,335,139
After tax earnings by source
Insurance underwriting1,717,000,0001,336,000,000
Insurance investment income2,679,000,0002,893,000,000
Bnsf railroad1,377,000,0001,214,000,000
Berkshire hathaway energy1,114,000,0001,097,000,000
Manufacturing service and retailing3,199,000,0003,060,000,000
Investment gains losses-1,240,000,000-5,038,000,000
Other1,260,000,00041,000,000
Net earnings attributable to berkshire shareholders10,106,000,0004,603,000,000
Operating earnings excluding investment gains and losses11,346,000,0009,641,000,000
Insurance underwriting
Pre tax underwriting earnings
Geico1,416,000,0002,173,000,000
Bh primary476,000,000-144,000,000
Bh reinsurance group373,000,000-307,000,000
Total2,265,000,0001,722,000,000
Income taxes548,000,000386,000,000
After tax underwriting earnings1,717,000,0001,336,000,000
Effective income tax rate %24.2%22.4%
Geico
Premiums written11,674,000,00011,506,000,000
Premiums earned11,186,000,00010,752,000,000
Losses and lae8,277,000,0007,424,000,000
Underwriting expenses1,493,000,0001,155,000,000
Loss ratio %73.9%69.0%
Expense ratio %13.4%10.8%
Combined ratio %87.3%79.8%
Pre tax underwriting earnings1,416,000,0002,173,000,000
Bh primary
Premiums written4,466,000,0004,423,000,000
Premiums earned4,591,000,0004,577,000,000
Losses and lae2,792,000,0003,452,000,000
Underwriting expenses1,323,000,0001,269,000,000
Loss ratio %60.8%75.4%
Expense ratio %28.8%27.7%
Combined ratio %89.6%103.1%
Pre tax underwriting earnings476,000,000-144,000,000
Bh reinsurance group
Property casualty
Premiums written5,992,000,0006,135,000,000
Premiums earned4,912,000,0005,235,000,000
Losses and lae2,884,000,0003,599,000,000
Underwriting expenses1,391,000,0001,568,000,000
Loss ratio %58.7%68.7%
Expense ratio %28.3%30.0%
Combined ratio %87.0%98.7%
Pre tax underwriting earnings637,000,00068,000,000
Life health
Premiums written1,318,000,0001,243,000,000
Premiums earned1,316,000,0001,240,000,000
Life and health benefits904,000,000956,000,000
Underwriting expenses286,000,000214,000,000
Pre tax underwriting earnings126,000,00070,000,000
Retroactive reinsurance pre tax-246,000,000-209,000,000
Periodic payment annuity pre tax-136,000,000-199,000,000
Variable annuity pre tax-8,000,000-37,000,000
Total pre tax underwriting earnings373,000,000-307,000,000
Insurance investment income
Interest and other investment income2,260,000,0002,519,000,000
Dividend income1,044,000,0001,042,000,000
Pre tax net investment income3,304,000,0003,561,000,000
Income taxes625,000,000668,000,000
After tax net investment income2,679,000,0002,893,000,000
Effective income tax rate %18.9%18.8%
Railroad bnsf
Railroad operating revenues5,959,000,0005,676,000,000
Railroad operating expenses3,911,000,0003,855,000,000
Railroad operating earnings2,048,000,0001,821,000,000
Other revenues expenses net49,000,00054,000,000
Interest expense-277,000,000-272,000,000
Pre tax earnings1,820,000,0001,603,000,000
Income taxes443,000,000389,000,000
Net earnings1,377,000,0001,214,000,000
Effective income tax rate %24.3%24.3%
Operating ratio %65.6%67.9%
Utilities and energy bhe
Energy operating revenues5,810,000,0005,506,000,000
Real estate operating revenues862,000,000860,000,000
Other-11,000,000-10,000,000
Total revenues6,661,000,0006,356,000,000
Energy cost of sales1,670,000,0001,531,000,000
Energy operating expenses2,668,000,0002,585,000,000
Real estate operating costs and expenses879,000,000871,000,000
Interest expense700,000,000646,000,000
Total costs and expenses5,917,000,0005,633,000,000
Pre tax earnings744,000,000723,000,000
Income tax benefit-430,000,000-422,000,000
Net earnings after income taxes1,174,000,0001,145,000,000
Noncontrolling interests of bhe subsidiaries60,000,00045,000,000
Net earnings attributable to bhe1,114,000,0001,100,000,000
Preferred stock dividends03,000,000
Net earnings attributable to berkshire shareholders1,114,000,0001,097,000,000
After tax earnings by activity
US utilities359,000,000428,000,000
Natural gas pipelines606,000,000488,000,000
Other energy businesses255,000,000347,000,000
Real estate brokerage-12,000,000-15,000,000
Corporate interest and other-94,000,000-148,000,000
Manufacturing service and retailing
Revenues
Manufacturing20,672,000,00018,766,000,000
Service and retailing34,170,000,00032,742,000,000
Total54,842,000,00051,508,000,000
Pre tax earnings
Manufacturing3,059,000,0002,716,000,000
Service and retailing1,175,000,0001,290,000,000
Total4,234,000,0004,006,000,000
Income taxes and noncontrolling interests1,035,000,000946,000,000
Net earnings3,199,000,0003,060,000,000
Effective income tax rate %23.7%22.9%
Pre tax margin %7.7%7.8%
After tax acquisition accounting expenses excluded-114,000,000-124,000,000
Investment gains losses detail
Pre tax investment gains losses-1,605,000,000-6,435,000,000
Income taxes and noncontrolling interests-365,000,000-1,397,000,000
After tax investment gains losses-1,240,000,000-5,038,000,000
Effective income tax rate %21.6%21.6%
Pre tax unrealized gains losses on equity securities still held at period end approx-3,300,000,000-6,800,000,000
Pre tax gains on equity securities sold during period approx1,700,000,000371,000,000
Other after tax earnings
Investment income not allocated to operating businesses967,000,000869,000,000
Foreign currency gains losses on non USD senior notes249,000,000-713,000,000
Equity method earnings155,000,000116,000,000
Acquisition accounting expenses-114,000,000-124,000,000
Other earnings losses3,000,000-107,000,000
Total1,260,000,00041,000,000
Cash flow
Operating activities
Net earnings10,179,000,0004,672,000,000
Investment gains losses reversal1,605,000,0006,435,000,000
Depreciation and amortization3,510,000,0003,265,000,000
Discount accretion on investments principally US treasury bills-3,068,000,000-3,129,000,000
Other adjustments277,000,0001,504,000,000
Change in unpaid losses and lae223,000,0001,215,000,000
Change in deferred charges retroactive reinsurance252,000,000169,000,000
Change in unearned insurance premiums1,443,000,0001,451,000,000
Change in receivables and originated loans-3,173,000,000-3,295,000,000
Change in other assets-1,358,000,000-297,000,000
Change in other liabilities-988,000,000-1,291,000,000
Change in income taxes1,536,000,000204,000,000
Net cash flows from operating activities10,438,000,00010,903,000,000
Investing activities
Purchases of equity securities-15,938,000,000-3,183,000,000
Sales of equity securities24,087,000,0004,677,000,000
Purchases of US treasury bills and fixed maturity securities-189,625,000,000-158,722,000,000
Sales of US treasury bills and fixed maturity securities12,491,000,0006,286,000,000
Redemptions and maturities of US treasury bills and fixed maturity securities179,028,000,000138,620,000,000
Acquisitions of businesses net of cash acquired-9,690,000,000-90,000,000
Purchases of property plant and equipment and equipment held for lease-4,986,000,000-4,281,000,000
Other325,000,000292,000,000
Net cash flows from investing activities-4,308,000,000-16,401,000,000
Financing activities
Proceeds from borrowings of insurance and other businesses7,000,0000
Repayments of borrowings of insurance and other businesses-2,543,000,000-1,299,000,000
Proceeds from borrowings of railroad utilities and energy businesses4,568,000,0002,353,000,000
Repayments of borrowings of railroad utilities and energy businesses-713,000,000-443,000,000
Changes in short term borrowings net-961,000,000-415,000,000
Acquisitions of treasury stock share repurchases-235,000,0000
Other principally transactions with noncontrolling interests51,000,000-143,000,000
Net cash flows from financing activities174,000,00053,000,000
Effects of foreign currency exchange rate changes-63,000,000-76,000,000
Increase decrease in cash and restricted cash6,241,000,000-5,521,000,000
Cash and cash equivalents and restricted cash beginning of year52,569,000,00048,376,000,000
Cash and cash equivalents and restricted cash end of quarter58,810,000,00042,855,000,000
Derived
Capital expenditures4,986,000,0004,281,000,000
Operating cash flow less capital expenditures5,452,000,0006,622,000,000
Dividends paid00
Capital expenditures by segment
Insurance25,000,00024,000,000
Bnsf744,000,000652,000,000
Bhe2,418,000,0002,128,000,000
Manufacturing904,000,000707,000,000
Service retailing583,000,000544,000,000
Mclane50,000,00022,000,000
Pilot262,000,000204,000,000
Total4,986,000,0004,281,000,000
Balance sheet
As of2026-03-312025-03-31
Assets
Insurance and other
Cash and cash equivalents51,478,000,000
Short term investments in US treasury bills339,261,000,000
Investments in fixed maturity securities17,669,000,000
Investments in equity securities288,034,000,000
Equity method investments19,951,000,000
Loans and finance receivables30,101,000,000
Other receivables47,492,000,000
Inventories25,523,000,000
Property plant and equipment39,042,000,000
Equipment held for lease18,674,000,000
Goodwill56,173,000,000
Other intangible assets34,275,000,000
Deferred charges retroactive reinsurance7,852,000,000
Other27,412,000,000
Subtotal1,002,937,000,000
Railroad utilities and energy
Cash and cash equivalents6,644,000,000
Receivables4,267,000,000
Property plant and equipment184,028,000,000
Goodwill27,007,000,000
Regulatory assets4,471,000,000
Other22,917,000,000
Subtotal249,334,000,000
Total assets1,252,271,000,000
Liabilities
Insurance and other
Unpaid losses and loss adjustment expenses121,561,000,000
Unpaid losses and lae retroactive reinsurance30,368,000,000
Unearned insurance premiums32,753,000,000
Life annuity and health insurance benefits17,479,000,000
Other insurance policyholder liabilities9,896,000,000
Accounts payable accruals and other liabilities39,670,000,000
Payable for purchases of US treasury bills17,229,000,000
Aircraft repurchase liabilities and unearned lease revenues10,915,000,000
Notes payable and other borrowings42,835,000,000
Subtotal322,706,000,000
Railroad utilities and energy
Accounts payable accruals and other liabilities18,545,000,000
Regulatory liabilities6,834,000,000
Notes payable and other borrowings86,051,000,000
Subtotal111,430,000,000
Income taxes principally deferred88,685,000,000
Total liabilities522,821,000,000
Shareholders equity
Common stock at par value8,000,000
Capital in excess of par value35,566,000,000
Accumulated other comprehensive income-2,511,000,000-3,084,000,000
Retained earnings773,292,000,000700,821,000,000
Treasury stock at cost-79,174,000,000-78,939,000,000
Berkshire shareholders equity727,181,000,000654,471,000,000
Noncontrolling interests2,269,000,0002,271,000,000
Total shareholders equity729,450,000,000656,742,000,000
Common stock and capital in excess of par value35,673,000,000
Total liabilities and shareholders equity1,252,271,000,000
Debt summary
Insurance and other borrowings42,835,000,000
Railroad utilities and energy borrowings86,051,000,000
Total notes payable and other borrowings128,886,000,000
Berkshire parent borrowings19,908,000,000
Berkshire hathaway finance corporation borrowings18,197,000,000
Bnsf borrowings23,560,000,000
Bhe and subsidiaries borrowings62,491,000,000
Cash and investments held in insurance businesses
Cash cash equivalents and US treasury bills236,779,000,000
Equity securities284,965,000,000
Fixed maturity securities17,386,000,000
Other including loans to affiliates4,655,000,000
Total543,785,000,000
Memo
US treasury bills with maturities of three months or less included in cash19,700,000,000
Unsettled purchases of US treasury bills included in short term investments and liabilities17,229,000,000
Insurance and other cash equivalents and treasury bills net of unsettled purchase payables373,500,000,000
Goodwill of acquired businesses83,180,000,000
Indefinite lived intangible assets19,000,000,000
Property casualty unpaid losses and lae including retroactive reinsurance151,900,000,000
NoteThe first-quarter 2026 Form 10-Q balance sheet presents March 31, 2026 and December 31, 2025 only. The equity figures below for March 31, 2025 come from the statement of changes in shareholders' equity in the same filing, which carries a first-quarter 2025 column.
Insurance float approx176,900,000,000
Book value
Berkshire shareholders equity727,181,000,000
Equivalent class a shares outstanding at period end1,437,903
Book value per equivalent class a share505,723.27
Book value per equivalent class b share337.15
Shares outstanding on cover page
As of2026-04-30
Class a shares505,697
Class b shares1,398,308,677
NoteCover-page counts reported in the first-quarter 2026 Form 10-Q. Each Class A share is convertible into 1,500 Class B shares; on an equivalent Class A basis these counts correspond to the 1,437,903 equivalent Class A shares outstanding at March 31, 2026.

BRK-B trailing twelve month income statement and cash flow

Trailing twelve months ended March 31, 2026
LabelTrailing twelve months ended March 31, 2026
Period start2025-04-01
Period end2026-03-31
BasisFull year 2025 from the FY2025 10-K plus first-quarter 2026 less first-quarter 2025, both from the first-quarter 2026 10-Q.
Source accessions0001193125-26-083899; 0001193125-26-202243
Total revenues375,394,000,000
Insurance premiums earned89,103,000,000
Investment gains losses pre tax43,908,000,000
Earnings before income taxes89,630,000,000
Income tax expense16,863,000,000
Net earnings attributable to berkshire shareholders72,471,000,000
After tax earnings by source
Insurance underwriting7,639,000,000
Insurance investment income12,299,000,000
Bnsf railroad5,639,000,000
Berkshire hathaway energy3,996,000,000
Manufacturing service and retailing13,786,000,000
Investment gains losses34,535,000,000
Other than temporary impairment of kraft heinz and occidental-8,255,000,000
Other2,832,000,000
Operating earnings excluding investment gains and impairments46,191,000,000
Pre tax underwriting earnings10,003,000,000
Net cash flows from operating activities45,504,000,000
Capital expenditures21,632,000,000
Operating cash flow less capital expenditures23,872,000,000
Derived per share
Net earnings per equivalent class a share50,393.0
Net earnings per equivalent class b share33.6
NoteComputed by dividing trailing-twelve-month net earnings attributable to Berkshire shareholders by the average equivalent share counts reported for the first quarter of 2026. The filings themselves do not present a trailing-twelve-month earnings-per-share figure.

Adjustments

Value
Splits appliednone
Splits noteNo stock splits are on record for either share class over the periods covered, so no per-share figure in this file has been split-adjusted. Berkshire last split its Class B shares 50-for-1 in 2010, well before the earliest period reported here.
ADR ration/a
ADR noteBerkshire is a U.S. domestic filer; its shares are common stock, not depositary receipts.
FXNone. Berkshire reports in U.S. dollars, so no currency conversion was applied. Foreign-currency effects that Berkshire itself records in earnings (chiefly the revaluation of its yen-, euro- and sterling-denominated senior notes) are carried as the company reports them.
Class conversionPer-share figures are given on both bases exactly as the filings present them. Where a Class B figure is shown it equals 1/1,500 of the corresponding Class A figure, which is the ratio fixed in Berkshire's charter.

Coverage

Value
Annual periods reported2,025; 2,024; 2,023
Annual noteThe FY2025 10-K presents three years on the statements of earnings and cash flows (2025, 2024, 2023) but only two years on the balance sheet (December 31, 2025 and 2024). The 2023 entry therefore carries a full income statement and cash flow statement but only the shareholders' equity balances, which the statement of changes in shareholders' equity does present for 2023.
Quarterly periods reported2026-03-31 (first quarter 2026); 2025-03-31 (first quarter 2025, comparative)
Quarterly noteBerkshire's fiscal year is the calendar year, so the first quarter is the only interim period covered by the latest 10-Q. No later quarter has been reported: second-quarter 2026 results were not yet filed as of the latest filings used here.

Notes

  • Every figure in this file was read from one of two filings: the FY2025 Form 10-K (accession 0001193125-26-083899, filed March 2, 2026, for the year ended December 31, 2025) and the first-quarter 2026 Form 10-Q (accession 0001193125-26-202243, filed May 4, 2026, for the quarter ended March 31, 2026). Each period block names its source accession.
  • All dollar amounts have been converted from the millions in which Berkshire prints its statements into actual dollars. Percentages, ratios and per-share amounts are left as the filings state them.
  • Reported net earnings are dominated by investment gains and losses, not by operations. Under the accounting rule effective since 2018, every change in the market value of Berkshire's equity portfolio flows through the income statement whether or not anything is sold. Pre-tax investment gains were $39.1 billion in 2025, $52.8 billion in 2024 and $74.9 billion in 2023 - in each year a large share of total pre-tax earnings. Berkshire itself states in the 10-K that it believes these gains and losses 'are generally meaningless in understanding our reported periodic results.' The after_tax_earnings_by_source block in each period, and the operating_earnings_excluding_investment_gains_and_impairments line within it, are the filing's own disaggregation and are the more useful read of the operating businesses.
  • 2025 net earnings also absorbed $8.255 billion of after-tax other-than-temporary impairment losses on the equity-method stakes in Kraft Heinz ($3.76 billion) and Occidental ($4.50 billion), disclosed in the FY2025 10-K. That charge is why 2025 equity method results swing to a loss of $9.59 billion from earnings of $1.84 billion in 2024.
  • Earnings per share are reported by Berkshire on two bases in the same statement: per average equivalent Class A share and per average equivalent Class B share, the latter being exactly 1/1,500 of the former. For the ticker in question, BRK-B, the Class B figures are the relevant ones: $31.04 in 2025, $41.27 in 2024 and $44.27 in 2023, and $4.68 in the first quarter of 2026 against $2.13 a year earlier. Both bases are carried in every period block.
  • Book value per share is computed as Berkshire shareholders' equity (which excludes noncontrolling interests) divided by the equivalent Class A shares outstanding at the period end that the filings state directly: 1,438,223 at December 31, 2025 and December 31, 2024, and 1,437,903 at March 31, 2026. No book value per share is given for 2023 because the FY2025 10-K does not state the equivalent share count outstanding at December 31, 2023.
  • Total debt is presented the way Berkshire's balance sheet splits it, because the two halves are not cross-guaranteed. At December 31, 2025 the insurance and other businesses owed $45.763 billion and the railroad, utilities and energy businesses owed $83.318 billion, for $129.081 billion in total. Within the second figure, BNSF accounted for $24.062 billion and Berkshire Hathaway Energy and its subsidiaries $59.256 billion. The 10-K states plainly that Berkshire does not guarantee any borrowings of BNSF, BHE or their subsidiaries. By March 31, 2026 the split was $42.835 billion and $86.051 billion, as the parent repaid maturing debt while BHE subsidiaries issued $4.6 billion of new term debt.
  • Cash is unusually structured and easy to misread. At December 31, 2025 the insurance and other businesses held $47.719 billion of cash and cash equivalents plus $321.434 billion of short-term U.S. Treasury Bills; the 10-K states the combined figure net of payables for unsettled Treasury Bill purchases was $369.0 billion. At March 31, 2026 the same measure was $373.5 billion. The cash line itself already includes Treasury Bills with three months or less to maturity ($17.6 billion at December 31, 2025, $19.7 billion at March 31, 2026), and the short-term investment line includes unsettled purchases that also sit in liabilities ($167 million at December 31, 2025, $17.229 billion at March 31, 2026). Both memo items are carried in the balance_sheet blocks so the figures can be reconciled.
  • Float - the insurance liabilities Berkshire holds and invests before claims are paid - was approximately $176 billion at December 31, 2025, $171 billion at December 31, 2024 and $169 billion at December 31, 2023, and approximately $176.9 billion at March 31, 2026. Berkshire states its underwriting operations produced pre-tax gains in each of these periods, meaning the average cost of that float was negative.
  • Berkshire repurchased no shares in 2025 - the first full year of none - after $2.918 billion in 2024 and $9.171 billion in 2023 (the 2023 cash flow figure of $9.171 billion differs from the $8.976 billion charged to treasury stock in the equity statement because of settlement timing). Repurchases resumed at a token level in the first quarter of 2026, at $235 million. Berkshire pays no dividend on either class of common stock, so dividends paid are zero in every period.
  • Capital spending is concentrated in the two capital-intensive subsidiaries. Consolidated purchases of property, plant and equipment and equipment held for lease were $20.927 billion in 2025, of which BNSF and BHE together accounted for $14.385 billion. The 10-K says BNSF and BHE forecast about $15 billion of capital expenditures in 2026; after $3.162 billion of that was spent by the two in the first quarter, the 10-Q says approximately $12.4 billion is forecast for the remainder of 2026.
  • The first quarter of 2026 includes the January 2, 2026 acquisition of Occidental's chemicals business (OxyChem) for approximately $9.5 billion, which is the bulk of the $9.690 billion of acquisitions of businesses in the quarter's investing cash flow and a large part of the $7.157 billion quarter-over-quarter rise in insurance-and-other property, plant and equipment.
  • Segment revenue and earnings tables reproduced here are Berkshire's own MD&A and segment-note presentations, which do not always tie exactly to the consolidated income statement. Two examples: BNSF's MD&A railroad operating revenues of $23.350 billion in 2025 differ from the $23.330 billion of railroad transportation revenues on the consolidated statement and from the $23.533 billion of segment revenues in the segment note, because of intersegment items that Berkshire does not eliminate from segment results; and 2023 insurance underwriting expenses are $15.270 billion on the consolidated statement against $15.274 billion summed across the three underwriting segments. These are presentation differences, not restatements.
  • Where the SEC's structured XBRL company-facts data disagreed with the filings, the filings were used. The XBRL data renames and re-scales several of Berkshire's line items, and it has no concept that matches Berkshire's two-class equivalent-share earnings-per-share presentation. In particular, the share counts and per-share amounts in this file are taken from the face of the statements of earnings, where they are printed in whole shares.
  • Berkshire's manufacturing, service and retailing net earnings as presented in MD&A exclude certain acquisition-accounting expenses, chiefly intangible-asset amortization ($528 million after tax in 2025, $531 million in 2024, $693 million in 2023, and $114 million in the first quarter of 2026). Those amounts sit in the 'other' line of the earnings-by-source table instead. Both figures are carried here so the reconciliation is visible.

Uncertainties

  • No book value per equivalent share is reported for fiscal 2023, and no balance sheet is reported for that year beyond shareholders' equity. The FY2025 10-K's balance sheet carries only December 31, 2025 and 2024 columns, and the 2023 equity figures shown here come from the statement of changes in shareholders' equity. The equivalent Class A shares outstanding at December 31, 2023 are not stated in that filing, so the per-share book value cannot be computed for that date without an older filing.
  • Likewise, no book value per share is given for March 31, 2025. The first-quarter 2026 10-Q states the equivalent Class A shares outstanding at March 31, 2026 and December 31, 2025 but not at March 31, 2025.
  • Float is an estimate by its nature. Berkshire describes it as unpaid losses and loss adjustment expenses including retroactive reinsurance, plus life, annuity and health benefit liabilities, unearned premiums and certain other liabilities, less premiums and reinsurance receivable, deferred charges on retroactive reinsurance and deferred policy acquisition costs. The company gives only rounded figures ('approximately $176 billion'), which is what is recorded here; it does not publish a line-by-line float computation.
  • Borrower-level debt figures - Berkshire parent, Berkshire Hathaway Finance Corporation, BNSF and BHE - are sums of the individual lines in the borrowings notes to the two filings rather than single stated totals. For example, the $59.256 billion shown for BHE and its subsidiaries at December 31, 2025 is the sum of BHE senior unsecured debt, subsidiary and other debt, and short-term borrowings; the MD&A of the same filing describes the same amount in round terms as 'approximately $59.3 billion.' The two consolidated totals they roll up into - insurance and other, and railroad, utilities and energy - are exact balance-sheet lines.
  • The trailing-twelve-month block is arithmetic (full year 2025 plus first quarter 2026 less first quarter 2025), not a figure Berkshire publishes. The trailing-twelve-month per-share amounts within it use the first quarter of 2026's average equivalent share counts as the denominator; a true weighted average over the four quarters would differ slightly, though the share count has moved less than one tenth of one percent over the period.
  • Berkshire began recording its share of Kraft Heinz's earnings on a one-quarter lag during the second quarter of 2025, joining Occidental, which had long been recorded on a lag. Equity-method earnings across the periods here are therefore not on a perfectly consistent timing basis.
  • Amounts described in the filings only in rounded billions - the approximately $850 million, $1.2 billion and $725 million of after-tax catastrophe losses in 2025, 2024 and 2023; the approximately $40.0 billion, $49.3 billion and $69.1 billion of pre-tax unrealized gains on equity securities still held at each year end - are recorded at that stated precision and should not be read as exact.
  • PacifiCorp's wildfire litigation is a material open exposure that no figure in this file quantifies. The FY2025 10-K discloses that amounts sought in unsettled complaints and demands total approximately $50 billion before any doubling, trebling or punitive damages, of which about $48 billion relates to the James mass complaints, and states that PacifiCorp cannot reasonably estimate a range of possible additional losses beyond what it has accrued. A $575 million federal settlement was approved in February 2026, and an Oregon Court of Appeals opinion on the James class action was issued in April 2026.

Company details

Value
NameBerkshire Hathaway Inc
TickerBRK-B
CIK0001067983
ExchangeNYSE
StateNebraska
IncorporationDelaware
SIC6331
OfficeFinance
IndustryFire, Marine & Casualty Insurance

Fiscal period

FY2026
Fiscal year2026
Fiscal periodQ1
TagFY26Q1
Period end2026-03-31
Form10-Q
Accession0001193125-26-202243
Fiscal year end1231
Sourcefacts

FAQ · Berkshire Hathaway financial statements

How much did Berkshire Hathaway earn in Q1 FY2026?

Berkshire Hathaway reported net earnings attributable to Berkshire shareholders of $10.11 billion for Q1 FY2026, the quarter ended March 31, 2026, up 119.6% from $4.60 billion in the same quarter a year earlier. That works out to $4.68 per equivalent Class B share.

What were Berkshire Hathaway's operating earnings in Q1 FY2026?

Berkshire Hathaway's operating earnings excluding investment gains and losses were $11.35 billion in Q1 FY2026, up 17.7% from $9.64 billion a year earlier. Berkshire treats this figure, which leaves out the marks on its equity portfolio, as the better guide to how its businesses actually performed.

How much revenue did Berkshire Hathaway report in Q1 FY2026?

Berkshire Hathaway reported total revenues of $93.67 billion for Q1 FY2026, the quarter ended March 31, 2026, up 4.4% from $89.72 billion a year earlier. The figure covers insurance premiums and investment income alongside the railroad, utility, energy, manufacturing, service and retailing businesses, and excludes investment gains and losses.

How did Berkshire Hathaway's insurance underwriting perform in Q1 FY2026?

Berkshire Hathaway's insurance underwriting produced after-tax earnings of $1.72 billion in Q1 FY2026, up 28.5% from $1.34 billion a year earlier. There were no significant catastrophe events in the quarter, and the Berkshire Hathaway Primary and reinsurance groups both swung from underwriting losses to profits while GEICO's underwriting earnings fell.

Where can I get Berkshire Hathaway Inc. (BRK-B) financial data in machine-readable form?

Ticker Scout publishes Berkshire Hathaway Inc.'s financial statements as JSON at https://tickerscout.ai/brk-b/financials.json, free, with no API key and no signup. The 10-K and 10-Q narrative and the 8-K events digest are published as Markdown at https://tickerscout.ai/brk-b/narrative.md and https://tickerscout.ai/brk-b/events.md. Berkshire Hathaway Inc.'s SEC CIK is 0001067983. Every figure cites the SEC accession number it came from, so it can be checked against sec.gov.

Related companies

See every covered company and its filings data.

How this page was built

This page was built from two of Berkshire Hathaway Inc.'s own filings with the SEC, read one at a time. Nothing on it is taken from a pre-tagged dataset, a data vendor or another website. The figures are on the company's own fiscal calendar and in actual dollars, as the filings report them. Where the filings do not support a figure, the record says so instead of reporting a zero; this period names eight such gaps.

A single company files thousands of pages with the SEC in a year, and no two companies file them the same way, so the reading and the assembly here are done by AI rather than by rules that break on the differences. Every pass is then audited back against the filings it came from before the page is published, and anything the filings do not support is left out and named rather than filled in. AI can still make mistakes. That is why the accession numbers are printed: the filing is the authority, and this page is a route to it.

Published by Ticker Scout, an independent publisher of company filings data. About Ticker Scout · Disclaimer

Built from Berkshire Hathaway Inc.'s SEC filings by Ticker Scout; accession numbers are cited throughout so every figure can be checked against sec.gov. Free to cite with attribution: Ticker Scout (tickerscout.ai). Not investment advice, see the Disclaimer.